These are the results from the Returning Officer on 14 November 2022.

The Royal New Zealand Foundation of the Blind’s Annual General Meeting took place in Tauranga and via Zoom on Saturday 12 November 2022.

At that meeting, three seats became vacant on The Royal New Zealand Foundation of the Blind’s Board of Directors, all by reason of cyclical rotation.  There were a total of 8 candidates who sought election and an election was duly undertaken.  Voting in the ballot closed on Tuesday 8 November 2022.

Election Results

A total of 528 valid voting forms were received which represents a turn-out of 12%.  The successful candidates were:

  • John Billings: 258 votes
  • Judy Small: 241 votes
  • Clive Lansink:  272 votes

The Board congratulates John and Clive on their re-election, and returning Director, Judy Small, to the Board.  Brief biographies of all nine directors can be found on our website.

If you have any further questions or comments, please contact Blind Low Vision NZ’s Board Secretary/Returning Officer by email at or by telephone on 0800 24 33 33.

Information on the full election results by candidate and the total number of valid votes for each candidate received follows:

Name of CandidateNumber of Valid Votes
Donna Hitchcock116
Adam Emirali162
Tutuila Fuiava104
John Billings258
Paul Geertson134
Judy Small241
Stephen Bradley131
Clive Lansink272

Since 2002, the RNZFB has been directly governed by its members who elect the Board of Directors.  The Board focuses on strategic issues such as the organisations’s purpose and direction.  Directors serve for a term of three years.